Doodles Does the PCT book, and other thoughts :)

I just got my “Doodles Does the PCT” book in the mail, and I have to admit, I was anxiously awaiting it. The book is a published version of a girl’s trail journal while she was hiking the PCT last year. I met her and her hiking partner, Scones several times along the trail, so her timeline and experiences were similar to mine. Her father inspired her to do a doodle a day, and she comprised them along with a few written passages into a book. I thought it was a very creative idea, and it inspires me to reflect more on my adventure and perhaps make my own book 🙂 

It was really cool to see her days described in the form of pictures. “Mile 1297, Sierra City resupply”, with doodles of the Red Moose Inn, the country store, names of other hikers there at the same time, as well as drawings of the trail along the way. I can look at a doodle and be like, “I remember being there, camping, and it looked just like that”. A great job, Doodles.

Lately, with my presentations and all I am fondly remembering the trail and the wonders it showed me. I miss it, yes, but I have these amazing memories to look back on, and I am so thankful for the experience. It really did change my life, and I am a better version of me now than before I went out there, exploring immersing myself in nature. I cant wait till this summer when Frazier and I get to do our annual mini backpack trip into the Sierras. They will mean so much more to me now. I sure do miss those alpine lakes!

My friend Wade, or Sweet Jesus, is thinking about hiking the Continental Divide Trail this summer. We just got the Yogi CDT handbook at our store (Nomad Ventures) and we have both been perusing it frequently, dreaming of what it would be like. I have seen a few pictures and videos of the Montana and Colorado sections and they sure do look beautiful. Someday, I will hike through the Colorado region. I am really excited for him if he decides to take on the CDT. It is much more challenging and brutal than the PCT ever thought of being, mainly because of the  extreme weather, snow, ice, high elevations, water issues, and endless routes to choose from. But he can do it! 

I am just beginning to ponder what my summer will look like here in Jtree. I will end my work at Nomad Ventures in May, so I am starting to think about other work. Not sure yet. We will not be trying for a baby until winter time, so I still have some time to make ‘baby’ money. 

We have a few mini vacations planned (our sierra backpack trip, and maybe Indiana to see Frazier’s family). 

Hmm. we will see!

 

Again, just a reminder that I will be giving more slideshows, 1 in March, 1 in April and maybe 2 in May. So, please let me know if you would be interested in attending one. 

 

Thanks again! Love to all.

About jamieannhaney

I am a 30 yr old, newly married, nature loving, hiking girl, set out to have a challenge, adventure and rite of passage out of kid-hood. I have an amazing life, husband, and friends, and I just want to be the best person I can be for all of that love around me :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Doodles Does the PCT book, and other thoughts :)

  1. Joan Taylor says:

    We r definitely interested in seeing your show again — carry on!

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

