First slideshow was a success! Many thanks :0)

Well, this public speaking thing ain’t so bad….especially when you are talking about one of the best experiences of your life 🙂

I gave my second slideshow last night, to a crowd of about 100 hikers and friends from the Coachella Valley Hiking Club, and it was hit! Thank you to Christy Anderson, Misty and Jo, Phillip Ferranti, Tom Kayne and Eric Baecht for setting this up and making it happen. I had a great time sharing my experience with you all, and answering your questions. They were great! It was an honor for me to be able to present. Thanks also to Jack, Erica, Donna and Warren, Brooke, Slyvia, Frazier, Matt and Dawn for being there, even though you have heard my stories a bunch already. It was great to see everyone and meet some new faces. 

I am just amazed at your enthusiasm and interest in the PCT, and my hike. It was a grand adventure to say the least. I tried my best to fit in the best of moments and pictures, but of course have so much more I could share. So, feel free to e-mail me anytime with questions. 

Looks like there is enough interest for me to do more presentations, so I’ll keep you updated. 

I also may do one at Whitewater Preserve in the late spring, since it IS so close to the PCT…. and my former home!

I hope inspired a lot of you to get out and experience some of the PCT, even if it is just a day hike or mini backpack trip. Here is a link to a GREAT book by the Wilderness Press about day and section hikes for the first 700 miles of the PCT that I found from the PCTA.org website this morning. You should check it out, and the rest of the website too.

http://www.pcta.org/2014/profile-day-section-hike-guides-pct-16551/ 

Thanks again, and happy hiking!

 

 

About jamieannhaney

I am a 30 yr old, newly married, nature loving, hiking girl, set out to have a challenge, adventure and rite of passage out of kid-hood. I have an amazing life, husband, and friends, and I just want to be the best person I can be for all of that love around me :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First slideshow was a success! Many thanks :0)

  1. Misty Carlson says:

    Great night, Jamie. Everyone I have spoken to was thrilled with your presentation. Inspiring and FUN! Who could ask for anything more?

    • Thanks Misty! I had a lot of fun sharing with you all. Everyone in my life has heard my stories too many times, they are bored with it, haha.

      I never used to be very good at public speaking, and I believe the trail helped me in that department too!

      • A friend of mine once told me that if you love and have a passion for what you are speaking about . . . the rest follows? I, like you, have felt that public speaking was not my thing? But clearly, you are gifted when speaking about the PCT!

Leave a Reply

